garlic scape pesto

I think I just whipped up an amazing pesto using garlic scapes and basil from my CSA. I haven’t actually served it for dinner yet, but… judging from the amount of times I taste-tested it, it must be pretty delicious!

As is often the case, I didn’t adhere to a recipe. I just cut up 10 or so scapes (discarding flower pod on top) and put them in my Cuisinart, added 2 packed cups of basil, a handful of almonds (walnuts are fine too, but I tend to avoid pine nuts), a handful of parmesan, salt, pepper, and a healthy drizzle of olive oil. I drizzled more oil in as the Cuisinart is whizzing everything up.

Dinner, done. The health benefits of garlic and the practicality of using up what’s in the fridge, all rolled into one.

If you need a recipe, here is one, which uses garlic scapes only– no basil.

(PS: Pesto is also really good made with parsley, which is a super food— did you know that?)

About asiajane

librarian, mama, bibliophile, foodie, pop-culture enthusiast, and design junkie
This entry was posted in cooking, CSA. Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to garlic scape pesto

  1. bkdtctv says:

    Sounds yummy, I may have to try!

  2. Noah says:

    Must be a CSA thing–we’ve been figuring out new ways to use the scapes we get from our CSA (our two year old has taken to stealing them from the refrigerator to use as ‘pointers’)–will have to keep Anna away from them long enough to try the recipe.

Leave a Reply

